Meluki's Celtic Catalog

Celtic Culture in Words and Music



Lieutenant Fury

Lieutenant Fury
Item# 9780099499572
$21.95

Product Description

Publisher: Arrow

Author: G.S. Beard

Lieutenant Fury is an action-packed sea-faring novel for fans of Hornblower, Bernard Cornwell’s Sharpe and Alan Mallinson’s Matthew Hervey novels.

1793. HMS Amazon is returning from an arduous duty in the Indian Ocean when she encounters a French frigate in the Atlantic. A bloody sea battle ensues resulting in both triumph and personal tragedy for Acting Lieutenant John Fury. A battered Amazon puts into Gibraltar for repairs and there Fury has his promotion confirmed by Vice Admiral Lord Hood, commander of the Mediterranean Fleet. He will be the fifth lieutenant on the 74 gun man-of-war Fortitude.

A series of unexpected events sees Fury temporarily transferred away from Fortitude, first to a brig, then to a gun ship and finally to defend a prominent fort ashore as the Republican armies, inspired by a young artillery officer by the name of Napoleon Bonaparte, establish a brutal siege of the port.

It is soon clear that Britain and her allies are going to be hard pressed to hold onto their prize. But Fury has more to lose than most. In the maelstrom of the siege he has met and fallen in love with a pretty French girl, Sophie Gourrier. Somehow, as the defence crumbles, he must rescue his men and Sophie from the doomed city. (pb)